Month: April 2013

  • Happy 57th Birthday Honey!

    I love growing older with this man that I love so much!

    Jeremy called and said they’d like to come in to Delaware on Friday and Saturday.  Jeremy’s birthday is the day before Marks and they both wanted to get in a round of golf to help celebrate!

    ~Practicing in the yard~

     

    On Sat. Jeremy, Cheryl and Ariel spent the day in Rehoboth while I enjoyed Max and Bo.

    They wanted a picnic in the yard.  Perfect weather.


     
    This next picture is not about the tree.
    It’s not about the house.
    It’s not about the beautiful big, blue sky.
    It’s not even about Maxwell.
    Look real close.



    It is about that little elbow sticking out to the left of the tree.

    ~ Potty Break ~

    Happy 33rd Birthday Jeremy!

     

    Before they headed back to Baltimore we had a pizza supper ending with candles on this fruit pizza, for the birthday boy.
    We also were joined by Pastor Timothy Gakunju, his wife Ann and their four children.

    Timothy pastors a church in Cincinnati, Ohio.  They stayed with us for the night and then on Sunday gave the morning message at our church.
    After a pot-luck meal they headed back West for an 11 hour drive.

  • Grandma Night

    Last Sunday we had “Grandma Night” at Daniel and MaryAnn’s place.

    We try and get as many Yoder’s together as we can once a month at mom’s place.    Last Sunday Mary Ann invited us to meet at their home.    Mark’s brother Nelson and Rose were down from Pa.

    Mom surrounded by a sweet bunch of her grandaughters and grandson’s wives.  Mom thank you for the Godly heritage you have passed on to this bunch of gals.  They are blessed.

    The evening was filled with games and laughter.
    Here’s a rousing game of Dutch Blitz.

    Sorry about the quality of these pictures.  I didn’t have my camera so I took them with my phone.

    Mary Ann and Sarah Jane dishing out some of the goodies.   I love those red pickled eggs, and Rose’s dill pickles are “the best ever!”.

    Everyone brings different dishes in.   Whatever you have on hand.  We usually have a pretty good spread of food.

    Maybe all this good food did something strange to us tho!!!

    I’m sorta glad the picture turned out rather fuzzy!
    Hey I love these gals.  They’re some of my favorite people!

    Before we left I asked Deborah if I could see the quilt she made out of her daddy’s hat collection.

    He wanted it extra long for when he’s on his lazyboy. 
    Deborah you did an amazing job.  I love it.  It was fun seeing all the different hats and places they represented!
    Little Charis was right pleased to say the least.
    I love the way Daniel and Deborah are both looking at her.

    In my last post I mentioned Mark being on a trip around the world.  I usually don’t like to mention that he is gone until he gets back.
    He spent two weeks across the ocean.  One week in India and one week in Napal.  I was so glad that our brother-in-law Terry was able to make the trip with him.
    I’m saving up my trip time to go spend a week or two with Queena, Ethan, Dorie and James this winter. 

    My “Scrappy Trip Around the World” is coming along.  I have about six more blocks to make and then I can start joining them.  This picture is a little off in color.

    I have a big week ahead of me.   The last couple days I’ve had a throbbing tooth ache so a trip to the dentist is in store.     Overnight company towards the end of the week which means some major cleaning around here.   I know I’ll still find time to sew tho!
    Blessings to you all.

  • Scrappy Trip Around the World

    “Scrappy Trip Around the World”



    Last Sunday  I  had special guests at my table.  Sheila and Sanford came to Delaware for the day bringing Mother and my sister Coleen (who was up from Ga. visiting mother in Va.) and my sister Barbara.   Sorry Babs I didn’t get a pic. of you.    They came especially to hear Ken K. share the Sunday evening program on his journey this past year having cancer.

     

    My two mother’s enjoying conversation.

    Lately I’ve been seeing a lot of this quilt pattern floating around on the web.   I give credit to Bonnie Hunter who posted the pattern.  If you google Bonnie Hunter Scrappy trip around the world and click on images you will see lots and lots of versions.

    It’s really a fun pattern.    I first cut lots of 2 inch strips from a color pallet of another quilt that I liked.
    It’s not matchy, matchy but I’m just experimenting and trying to step out of the box.
    (trying to be brave here)

    One thing that helps is to have some good friends to sew with.   Queena, Wava and Delores came and joined me for the day.

    Poor Wava was given instructions from her man that she first needed to patch a pair of jeans before she could start on her sewing project.

    We decided to eat our salad lunch out on the porch but about froze.

    We came inside before we were done.
    Great day sewing with you girls.  Thanks.

    After sewing 8 strips together you cut the strada in 8 2inch pieces and join them in a block.

      Last evening I needed to cut more strips so I put “Duck Dynasty” on while cutting and sewing into the night.

    I like whats happening with this “Scrappy Trip Around the World”
     

    While Mark is literally on a trip around the world how fitting that I should be making a quilt called  “Trip Around the World”
    He’ll soon be home and I hope to fill you in on some more details.

  • MCC Ephrata, PA

    Early yesterday morning two van loads left Greenwood Mennonite Church for a day in Ephrata, PA.  We spent our day working at the  MCC Resource Center.

    I was happy to see a very large group of Amish  also working there for the day.   I tried to act like an undercover photographer and snapped a few pictures with my phone.
     

      

    I believe this group was from northern PA close to Williamsport.

    I’m always impressed at the relief and humanitarian aid that MCC provides for all around the globe.

    Most of our group worked in the quilt room but we did have two fellows in our group, Stuart and Floyd who worked in the back helping pack relief boxes.

    Loved seeing the quilts hanging around the rooms.

    Connie heads up the quilt rooms and has a major job keeping three and four quilts in frames at all times.  She also does an amazing amount of piecing tops.    Here Connie is showing a youthful one she just finished.

    After lunch I noticed she was busy putting a beautiful tumbling block quilt in a spot where earlier a group of the Amish were finishing up one.

    ~Four of my dear friends~

    Muriel was given the job of sewing on price tags on some old quilt blocks that were donated.

    Queena and her mother-in-law adding their beautiful stitches.

    Darlene, Lois and Delores.

    Partway through the morning an announcement was made over the intercom that a container was filled and ready to be shipped.   Before containers leave the property they gather those working in the building to share in a prayer for the shipping of the stuff as well as the people who will be blessed by receiving it.

    There were lots and lots of people gathered but since most were the Amish I chose not to include them in the picture.    After pulling away from the building the container is sealed and away it goes.    We were told this shipment will go to Syria.   It is heading to the Baltimore Port and in a week or so will arrive to its destination.

    Here are a few informative boards that were around the lunch room.

    The few comforters that we make at our Greenwood Sewing Circle are a part of this amazing number of 59,558 that were sent last year.

    I love being a part of this work of PEACE.
    The quilts that are done at the resource center are sold at the different MCC Relief Auctions and the money is used for shipping the many many containers that go overseas.

    The day came to an end and we were home by 7:30.

  • April Sewing Circle

    April Sewing Circle



    There was an extra amount of children at sewing.   Then we realized that this is Spring Break week and most of the kids are off from school.

    Children are the future Sewing Circle and we do welcome them.
    Grandma Delores showing Laci the finer points of her machine.

    Sorry this picture is out of focus but I thought it was so sweet seeing Jessica just a quilting away with her little one on her lap.

    Delores often had a child or two watching what she was doing.  Future seamstresses!

     

    Elizabeth and her adult child.

    Going through the lunch line with a little one in tow.

    How about this?  Momma has both hands free!

     

    Yum, Yum.  Mother and son.

    For Show and Tell  Queena brought the quilt that she had pieced out of her daughter Candace’s childhood dresses.  I was tickled that Candace was there as well as her little Lucy.

     

    Eileen got up during show and tell and said I have something to show you.
    A brand new grandson!

    We showed the quilt that Grandma Schultz and I made for her great-grandson.


     
    It was good to finally get this one out of the quilting frame.  Thanks to all you at sewing who helped put your beautiful stitches in this one.

    Notice the children standing around watching what Allison is doing.


     
    Here is a close up.   She brought this project along that she has been doing at home.   She pieced the doll blanket and is now hand quilting it.   What did I say about our future sewing circle?    Yay!!!

      Children stringing beads.

    Till next time…..happy sewing!