September 2, 2012

  • “Simply Triangles” blog tour

    “Simply Triangles” 
    Book Blog Tour



    What a privilege to be asked to host one of the stops on Barbara Cline’s Blog Tour.
    Thanks to C&T Publishing
    for doing such a great job on publishing this book.

    You see, not only is Barbara Cline the author of this fantastic book but she is also my little sister! 
    (I could tell you stories!)
    Yes, that’s her, the cute little one in the front.

    We were fortunate to grow up surrounded by fabric, sewing machines and lots of love!   Our parents owned and operated “The Clothes Line” a fabric store and Bernina dealership, for many years.
    Here is Barbara (fourth from the right) surrounded by all seven of her sisters, her mother and a couple nieces in the back.

    Included in the book are little “Life Lessons”.  Barbara asked her daughters, mother and each of us sisters to share a sewing story or lesson from our lives.

    My favorite quilt in the book is
    “Button, Button, Who’s Got the Button?



    I was with Barbara when she was machine quilting this quilt.   What a delight seeing the quilt come to life as she put her loving stitches on it.



    Barbara’s love of sewing spills over into the classroom.   Here she is teaching one of her many classes.




      This quilt is featured on the cover of the book.
    It looks complicated to make, but you know what???

    It’s Simply Triangles!


    Thank you Barbara. Not only are you my little sister but you are my friend!



    Here comes the good part!
    By leaving a comment below you will be entered into a drawing for a free copy of this book.  The drawing will be on Sept. 8th so do check back in with me.

    Please stop at each Blog on the tour!

    Sept. 2 Canton Village Quilt Works 

    Sept. 5 Jan Krentz 

    Barbara, Congratulations and Best Wishes on your book.

    Much Love,
    your sister
    ~ Polly ~

Comments (56)

  • Well, I wonder what chance there will be that the first comment will be chosen the winner?!  Regardless, I wanted to say once again that the creativity of your family is a beauty to behold, so thank you for sharing everything that you do!!!

  • Aunt Barbara is so talented!  I’m thankful she can share her love of quilts in this way.

  • Wow–how great to have that many sewists in one family. I love the photos of the family–and the one of Barbara quilting her quilt too.  

  • Triangles are always fun. I love hexagons and like making hexagons with 6 triangles. Thanks, Polly!

  • My eyes are watching from texas

  • Have the Book, and browsed from cover to cover. Wow! Apropriate title.

  • Hi Polly, you did a great job on your post advertising Barbara’s book! Loved seeing all the photos and would love to be entered to win! Thanks so much. ~ Deb

  • It is very relaxing to me to enjoy the quilts made by the Heatwoles!

  • How sweet of you to share some of the background of your family. My mom was the seventh of seven sisters, with just one brother in the family. She’d have loved to hear your stories. I have another of Barbara’s books, and love it. Her instructions are so clear, and of course, the photos of her work are just gorgeous. 

  • Lovely book. Triangles are new to me but very intriguing. Happy quilting!

  • I would love to win this book. Lucky you to get to preview it and have such a talented sister.

  • Your posts are a joy to read whether about family or quilting or both in the same post.

  • What a wonderful post about the book and great pictures and some background of the entire family too. Wow, having so many in the family to share the love of sewing and quilting with must be such fun to get together. LOVE the family pictures.  My favorite quilt so far is the cover of the book. That quilt is just gorgeous.

    Thank you for sharing with us.

  • Thanks for sharing about your sister!  What a talented family!

  • I love the overlapping start quilt, beautiful. eatkin85@yahoo.com

  • Polly, I loved your post.  I absolutely love the quilt on the cover of the book.

  • Sounds like a wonderful book.  The quilts are beautiful and I think the Life Lessons is a great idea too.  Sisters are the best.

  • That’s a beautiful quilt, and I expect the book makes it deceptively easy to make!

  • What a great book! and how lovely to hear about your family! Seven sisters – wow!!

  • I was just thinking today that I really want to learn to/start quilting!  

  • This was my first visit to your blog, and I enjoyed it immensely. It looks like you have a lot of sewing talent running among the family.
    I love the quilt on the cover of the book.

  • What a beautiful book. The quilts are stunning, and using triangle. I cannot wait to use the book techniques. Thanks for a chance to win. 

    Corinne demoncori@aol.com

  • Very nice book!! Am so glad you and your sisters have such a great heritage!! I really admire your family even though I’ve never met you, except through xanga!

  • I think I may be in love with this book – I certainly feel that way about the quilt on the cover.  I am so impressed by all the quilts that are being featured; fantastic, Barbara.  It would be grand to win a copy of this book.

  • Wow, the quilts in this book are so gorgeous!  I enjoyed hearing a bit about your family and your “sewing heritage”.  Thanks for sharing!

  • Enjoyed your post and the little bit about your family’s past history with fabrics!  No wonder you are all such great quilters!

  • I love that this book includes family wisdom and memories! 

    The glimpses of patterns offered are quite innovative and fun, too! I hope I win!

  • So much talent in one family and writing quilting books too! — I love seeing and reading about your creations.  I’ve done a little quilting but would love to have the book — thanks for the opportunity!

  • I would love to own a copy of the book ~ count me in, please!

  • What beautiful quilts!  What a great family of quilters you have.  I love the family photo with all the sewing machines!  Congratulations to your sister for publishing this book!  Thanks for a chance to win!  :)  

  • So facinated with your family pictures yesterday I forgot to comment!  Love the book, would sure love to win. Enjoyed seeing and learning about your life. Glad you’re so happy.

  • What a lovely story.  Your sister’s book looks wonderful!

  • Thank you so much for this nice post, I enjoyed reading it. Thanks for the chance to win the book, is looks great, so beautiful and colorful quilts.
    Liebe Grüße
    Bente

  • Thanks for sharing a little background of your family.  To grow up in a quilt shop – priceless!  

  • Thank you for the background information on Barbara’s book. I have a copy of her first book, and know that this one will be exceptional as well. Thanks for the chance to win! alternate email mlwright29(at)hotmail(dot)com

  • Love to hear the family stories.  Thanks for a chance to win.

  • I can’t believe that the quilt is made up of triangles! Thanks for the chance to win a copy of Barb’s book – maybe I will find out how to make that cover quilt!

    quilary (at) gmail (dot) com

  • It looks like a wonderful book.  I suffer from triangle-phobia.  As much as I love the way hey look in quilts, I often have problems maintaining the points when sewing them.  Thanks for sharing the photo of your family.  It must have been a very busy household when you were growing up.

  • How wonderful to share a passion like this with all the ladies in your family.

    Thanks for the chance to win such a fantastic book.

    quilting[dash]lady[at]comcast[dot]net

  • This looks like another great book that i would lije to own

  • Beautiful quilts!  Thanks for a chance to win a copy of the book!

  • Congratulations this book looks just amazing!

  • Awww that’s so cool! Helping Little Sis promote her lovely book :) I’d love to win a copy too!

  • Thanks so much for sharing about your sister!  The book looks fantastic, I’d love to give these patterns a try!  The hard part will be deciding which one to make first.

  • Thanks for sharing you heritage and your talent. Would love to try this!

  • Your blog post shines with love for your sister.  That was as wonderful to read as I’m sure the book will be. 

  • WOW!  Beautiful family pictures and such great talent in one family.  Thank you for sharing your family with us.

  • Looks like a great book! thanks for sharing!

  • So sweet!  The quilt on the cover looks amazing – thanks for the fun giveaway :)  winnieayala at yahoo dot com

  • HUGE congrats to your sister on her publication – the quilt on the front looks absolutely amazing! Thank you so much for hosting this tour, and thanks for the opportunity to win a copy :)

  • The cover quilt looks 3-dimensional — so beautiful!

  • The cover photo of the book is fabulous.  Geometrical patterns and puzzles are my favorite type of quilt.  I’m very intrigued.

  • Looks like a great book!

  • Love the spinning triangle quilt!

    shirleyrud@hotmail.com

  • Love this book, would love to win it!
    Watana

    bonitac@centurytel.net

  • Hi, I also like Button, Button and would love to be able to create one.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *