September 15, 2012

  • September Happenings

        
    Time has a way of flying and now my post might seem outdated.  Oh well, let me go back in my picture file and see what I can come up with.

    Fall is in the air and with September comes pole limas.

     

    Jeremy’s were in for a visit the day the limas needed to be picked.   Mark, Jeremy, Christopher and Tim all got up early and picked two muck buckets full at the crack of dawn.

    Bo loved being in the center of the action and helping by folding a bean and quick throwing it into the “done bucket”. 

    Sub sandwiches made a great lunch break for us.  (Diana you know you can take a break!)

    Finished in time for Max and Jerms to get in some bow practice and hunting.     Max wanted me to be sure and know that his arrow had a sharp tip on the end.

    Watching his daddy and then pulling back like a pro!

    Was happy that Jeremy and Cheryl got in on one of our “Sunday Nights at Grandma’s House.”
    Cheryl and Edie sharing a laugh.


    (notice the baby bump growing)

    ~Christina, Jesse and Mark~

    ~Bert and Jeremy with talking hands.~

    ~Alicia and Tasha~

    ~Mary Dear and me~

    The kids loved this wiggley, squiqqly, thing.

    Only Grandma Alene has toys that make sweet grandchildren look like Amishmen!

    * * * * * * *

    The first Wednesday of September we met for our monthly Community Sewing Circle.   We had the smallest group that I can ever remember having.  (Fourteen women) I sure hope that is not a sign of how this year will be. 

    Quilting and knotting a comfort were two of the projects we had going.

    We had just two young girls helping with knitting stocking caps.

    Grandma Lois working with her great granddaughter Erica.


     
    “Sew-and-tell”

    Connie finished quilting this antique quilt she was given.  I love how the hand quilting really shows up in this picture.

    Carmen showing a wall hanging she machine appliqued.

    I’ve been busy this past week sewing in my sewing room again piecing  wonky letters.

     Lot’s of pinning before I can start machine quilting.

    I’m making an European pillow sham to go into my granddaughter’s birthday box.

    My week also included Passport Health shots and a trip to the dentist for a root canal.  I’ll spare you the details.

    It’s Saturday and time I get to some cleaning for the week-end.

Comments (7)

  • Glad that your root canal is over!  And – passport health shots?  Does that mean you are going to visit your kids?  Looks like you all have had lots of fun times!

  • Love how Misty’s quilt turned out! The passport health shots sound much more interesting than the root canal! ;)

  • You have a beautiful family.  I love fresh lima beans.

  • We got passports but don’t remember having shots?  Love this post.  Cheered me up a bit after a weekend home alone for the most part while the others enjoyed the local goings on.  I seem to go from one odd thing to another.  This time no walking on an infected right foot and no help from the doc I visited Friday and guess I’ll go back to Mon.  The quilts are wonderful as always as is your family love.

  • I was wondering too about the passport shots. Where are you going that you have to have them? And those limas make my mouth water! And I love the picture of Jeremy and Max with their bows pulled back. And I wonder what you and Mary Ann are talking about! And lucky Misty!!!

  • @ColeenSr - Coleen, in October Mark, Holly and I are going to Kuching to visit Queena and Ethan.  I get to stay there and be Grandma to Dorie and James while Mark and Holly travel on to Bangkok joining a team from Rosedale Mission Board for a week and then they travel on to India for another week, visiting the area where Mark likes to go every three years or so.   We will be gone a total of three weeks.   I’m looking forward to it so much.   

  • I don’t envy you with a root canal! You will be glad for those wonderful lima beans. I enjoy them so much when we go to VA and have them for some special meal. And yes, Max is following his dad’s. Great picture. I too like Misty’s pillow to match her quilt. I just love the way you put names on your quilts and pillows. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *