November 25, 2012

  • Two Thanksgiving Quilts

    Two Thanksgiving Quilts!



    This quilt was made by my good friend Queena K.  She made it to give to the doctor who has given such great care to her husband Ken (who has battled with cancer this past year).   I call it their “Thanksgiving Quilt”.

    Here’s my “Thanksgiving Quilt”.



    I pieced this one on Thanksgiving Day and the day before from my Father’s shirts.  As I sewed at my machine I used the time to thank the Lord for the blessing He gave me by giving me the best Father in the world.  So many warm and sweet memories came to mind I do miss him.

Comments (12)

  • Beautiful quilts!  Thank you for sharing them.  And I certainly understand about your Dad……

  • I love them and the thought behind them.  Do these quilts have patterns with names?  Just curious.  Kim

  • Oh my, Polly. I like both quilts. The “Blooming 9-Patch” by Queen is such a generous gift. I know the recipent will like it. It certainly is lovely. … And then I also like your “Father’s Shirts.” The shirts do bring back warm memories.

  • Oh my, Polly. I like both quilts. The “Blooming 9-Patch” by Queen is such a generous gift. I know the recipent will like it. It certainly is lovely. … And then I also like your “Father’s Shirts.” The shirts do bring back warm memories.

  • Both are beautiful quilts!  I love the blends of colors and the pattern that Queena used – looks very intricate!   And yours is sooooo special!  What a blessing to have made such a wonderful tribute and memory of your father!

  • Such beautiful quilts!!  I love the white cross in the center of your quilt — The Cross is what I am most thankful for everyday!

  • Such beautiful quilts!!  I love the white cross in the center of your quilt — The Cross is what I am most thankful for everyday!

  • Queena’s beautiful quilt is truly a gift from a grateful heart. I know lots of time went into sewing those tiny blocks. We noticed the white cross too in Father’s shirt quilt. Both of these quilts are labors of love. Weren’t we so lucky he was our Father?!!!!!!

  • Both are beautiful quilts and thanks so much for featuring Aunt Queena and her lovely gift for Uncle Ken’s doctor!!   We are all so thankful that he is doing so well and are looking forward to having them here in VA for Christmas at Grandmother Julia’s!  :)

  • Thanks for sharing with us.

  • Both are very pretty. Glad you shared the pics!

  • awww aunt polly! grandfather’s shirt quilt is awesome :) i remember him wearing sooooo many of those shirts :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *