December 15, 2012

  • I’ve always loved a good good mystery.   I’m in the middle of one now.  I absolutely have no idea what the finished quilt is going to look like.

    This week we were given Clue #4 for Bonnie Hunter’s  mystery quilt called

    This weeks Cast of Characters:

    All ready to be sewed into 64 flying geese units.

    I love numbers and I’ve done a little running tally on all the pieces we have used for the first 4 clues.   Anyone want to guess how many pieces we have used so far?
    Below are all the completed units to date.

    1809 if I’ve counted right.

    Last weekend we went out to Michigan and celebrated Christmas with half our family.   Before going Holly and I got together one day and made some Christmas candy.   We’ve been wanting to try this recipe of Caramel Twists that we keep seeing on Pinterest.

    They were good but way to time consuming for me.  The only redeeming factor was that I got to spend the day with my Holly girl.



    Then today I made one of Marks favorite Christmas treats.   Date Balls.  They are quick, easy and delicious.  A recipe like this gives me more time to sew!

    Date Balls

    2 eggs beaten
    2 cups sugar
    1 cup butter
    1 lb. chopped dates
    1 cup chopped pecans
    2 T. vanilla
    6 cups Rice Krispies
    14 oz. coconut

    Put eggs, sugar, butter and dates in a sauce pan and bring to a boil stirring the whole time.  Boil for one minute then remove from heat.   Stir in vanilla, nuts and Rice Krispies.  Drop by spoonfulls in coconut.  These freeze really well.

    This year we did Christmas stockings for our gift exchange.

    Seven of our ten grandchildren!

    Christopher loved playing boardgames with the kids.

    Timmy and Diana jumping on the trampoline with the younger ones.  Israel dug a hole and lined it with cement with a drain in the bottom.  They live on a hill so any rain that collects runs down and out.
    Pretty cool!

    Three of my four boys.  Timmy, Chris and Israel.   Jeremy we missed you and Ethan.

    Jessica always puts on such wonderful brunches when we come.
    Cousins Max and Summer play together so well.  Wonder what they are discussing here.

    Alicia and Grant.

    Diana and one of the twins.

    “Mom, hurry up and take the picture so we can chow down on these fantastic scrambled eggs and apple fritters!”

    Thank you Israel and Jessica for hosting us this year.  You get a gold medal for being such gracious hosts.   The meals, the fellowship, the beds were all great.   We love you bunches and pray God will bless you richly for your kindness!

    ~ Parting Shot ~
    Israel, Jessica and the tribe of Israel

Comments (13)

  • I’ve missed visiting your blog Polly! It was fun to do some catching up. Is it possible to get your recipe for Date Balls? Also, what was the board game called that the children were playing?

    I hope you have a lovely Christmas!

  • You have a beautiful family.

  • @georgene - @georgene - Georgene I’ll add the recipe for the Date Balls tomorrow.  I’m so tired this evening I can hardly keep my eyes open.    Then board game is one that Christopher brought out.  All I know is he loves European and German games and buys a lot on the internet.   

  • Wil has asked for his favorite peanut clusters so I will make 2 batches next week.  We don’t need the sugar and sweets anymore but these peanut clusters are so easy and fast and they won’t hurt him any.

  • @georgene - Georgene I’ve just added the recipe for the Date Balls in this post.

  • Thank you so much Polly! My husband used to love getting Date Balls at See’s Candy but they stopped making them. I bet he’ll like these. Thanks for taking the time to post them.

    Can I ask you one more question? How do you do the ‘stocking exchange’? Do you pick names? and then fill a stocking for the person’s name you get?

  • I have been following Bonnie’s blog and was tempted to do the mystery, but decided against it. I am enjoying keeping up with her instructions though. I am eager to see your finished project ~ as I am sure you are also. ;)

  • Thanks for sharing your Easy Street progress and family photos — all beautiful!

  • Your Easy Street pieces are so photogenic! Love your happy family and I must make those date balls. Thanks for the recipe.

  • Your Easy Street is coming along nicely. I have a question about your Date Balls recipe. Is the vanilla 2 tsp or 2 tbsp?

  • @nannylor - I wondered about that too.  I got the recipe from my sister-in-law.  I always use the 2 Tablespoons.  It seems like a lot but that is what I use.  

  • Easy Street is coming along nicely.  I love the buried trampoline.  What a great idea for safety!

  • Easy Street is coming along nicely.  I love the buried trampoline for safety!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *